

Minutes of the Regular Board of Trustees **Organizational Meeting** of Grande Yellowhead Public School Division

June 17, 2020 – 10:00 am Virtually via Google Meet

meet.google.com/gjg-cmon-eay

TRUSTEE ATTENDANCE:

E. Aust Present – Video Conference
S. Caputo Present – Video Conference
K. Fate Present – Video Conference
F. Fowler Present – Video Conference
D. Karpluk Present – Video Conference
B. Rosadiuk, Chair Present – Video Conference
J. Zaporosky, Vice Chair Present – Video Conference

ADMINISTRATION ATTENDANCE:

- C. Lewis, Superintendent
- S. Nicholson, Secretary Treasurer
- K. Harding, Assistant Superintendent Board Relations
- K. Smith, Acting Assistant Superintendent Learning Services
- C. Aschenmeier, Director of Curriculum and Assessment
- K. McConnell. Director of Inclusive Learning
- K. Baluch, Managing Director of Facilities and Transportation Services
- N. Gilks, Special Projects Manager
- M. Bobilek, Senior Executive Assistant

According to Alberta Regulation 82/2019 — Education Act — Board Procedures Regulations, a notice of the Special Meeting was sent to the Trustees by email 2 days before the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER

Superintendent Lewis chaired the meeting for the election of the board chair and called the meeting to order at 1000 hours.

Election of Board Chair

Superintendent Lewis called for nominations for the position of board chair.

Trustee Karpluk nominated Trustee Rosadiuk. Nomination accepted.

2020-099 Nominations Cease

Trustee Zaporosky moved that nominations for board chair cease

2020-100 Appoint Chair

Trustee Fate moved that the board appoint Trustee Rosadiuk as board chair.

Carried

Carried

SN B

Trustee Rosadiuk assumes the role of the chair.

2020-101 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Trustee Caputo moved that the Board approve the agenda.

Carried

Conflicts of Interest

Forms for mandatory disclosure of personal interests were filled out, signed, and submitted by individual board members to the Secretary Treasurer by email and Fax.

Election of Vice-Chair of the Board

Chair Rosadiuk called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair. Trustee Fate nominated Trustee Zaporosky. Nomination accepted.

2020-102 Nominations Cease

Trustee Karpluk moved that the nominations for vice-chair cease.

Carried

2020-103 Appointment of Vice-Chair

Trustee Caputo moved that the board appoint Trustee Zaporosky as vice-chair.

Carried

ACTION ITEMS

2020-104 Approval of Committee Structure

Trustee Zaporosky moved that the Board approve the Committee Structure of the Board according to Policy 8 and 9 for the 2020/21 school year.

Carried

STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. Committee of the Whole:
 - Chair: Trustee Zaporosky
 - Vice Chair: Trustee Caputo
- 2. ATA Appeals (Grievance) Committee:
 - Members: Trustees Fate and Zaporosky
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 3. ATA Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Zaporosky and Fowler
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk
- 4. Audit Committee:
 - Members: all trustees
- 5. CUPE Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Caputo and Zaporosky



- Alternate: Trustee Aust
- 6. Division Bus Drivers' Negotiations:
 - Trustees Aust and Fate
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk
- 7. Employee Assistance Plan Steering Committee:
 - Member: Trustee Caputo
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 8. Grievance Committee (Association of School Bus Drivers):
 - Members: Trustees Zaporosky and Aust
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk
- 9. Policy Committee:
 - Members: Trustees Caputo, Karpluk and Fate
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 10. Recognition of Employees:
 - Members: Trustees Karpluk and Aust
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 11. Board Planning Seminar
 - Members: Trustees Karpluk and Fowler
 - Alternate: Trustee Zaporosky
- 12. Awards Gala
 - Members: Trustess Caputo and Fowler
 - Alternate: Trustee Zaporosky

Ad Hoc Committees

1. Student Expulsion: Two trustees (local when available); Superintendent or designate.

External Committees

- Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3 Board Representative:
 - Representative: Trustee Karpluk
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler



SN

- 2. Public School Boards Association of Alberta (PSBAA) Council Representative:
 - Representative: Trustee Zaporosky
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- 3. Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards:
 - Representative: Trustee Rosadiuk
 - Alternate: Trustee Karpluk
- 4. Health and Wellness:
 - Representative: Trustee Aust
 - Alternate: Trustee Zaporosky

Closed Representation

1. Chamber of Commerce

Evansburg Entwistle - Trustee Rosadiuk; Trustee Zaporosky as alternate:

Edson - Trustee Fowler; Trustee Zaporosky as alternate;

Hinton - Trustee Aust; Trustee Caputo as alternate;

Jasper - Trustee Karpluk; Trustee Aust as alternate;

Grande Cache - Trustee Fate; Trustee Karpluk as alternate.

2. **Interagency**: Trustee from individual community.

Ad Hoc Committee Representation

- 1. Report Card Committee:
 - Representative: Trustees Karpluk and Fowler
- 2. TEBA
 - Representative: Trustee Rosadiuk
 - Alternate: Trustee Zaporosky

Signing Authorities

2020-105 Friendly Amendment to Motion 2020-101

Trustee Fate made a motion to amend the agenda item 5.2 to consist of four separate motions that are 5.2.1, 5.2.2, 5.2.3, and 5.2.4.

Carried

2020-106

Trustee Karpluk moved that the board appoint Board Chair or Vice Chair together with the Superintendent of Schools or the Secretary Treasurer with signing authority for all documents, and the Deputy Superintendent as signing authority for teacher contracts only.

Carried



2020-107	Trustee Fowler moved that the Board appoint Board Chair or Vice Board Chair together with Superintendent of Schools or Secretary Treasurer, as signing authority on all cheques and negotiable instruments. Carried
2020-108	Trustee Zaporosky moved that the Board authorize the use of facsimile and digital signatures for signing cheques. Carried
2020-109	Trustee Fate moved that the Board authorize the use of electronic funds transfer for payments of accounts. Carried
2020-110	ADJOURNMENT Trustee Caputo moved for adjournment at 1048 hours.

Brenda Rosadiuk Board Chair X Seen Kin

Sean Nicholson Secretary Treasurer