

# TREATY TERRITORY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

### Background

The Division recognizes the historical significance and contributions of the Indigenous Peoples and their cultures and understands the important role that the Indigenous community plays today and in the future. The Division also understands the importance of honoring the following Canadian events, namely:

- 2015 Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) Final Report
- 2008 National Statement of Apology to former students of Indian Residential Schools
- June 21, 1996 National Indigenous Peoples Day This is a day for all Canadians to recognize and celebrate the unique heritage, diverse cultures and outstanding contributions of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. The Canadian Constitution recognizes these three groups as Aboriginal peoples, also known as Indigenous Peoples.

And as such the Division recognizes the importance of honoring and acknowledging both Treaty 6 and 8 territories as we work towards strengthening relations and building bridges with our neighboring communities.

#### Definition

In the context of Indigenous cultures, "traditional territory" refers to a specific place within Alberta that has been a traditional meeting grounds, gathering place, and travelling route to the Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Assiniboine, Stoney, Métis the context of Aboriginal cultures, "traditional territory" refers to a specific place within Alberta that has been a traditional meeting grounds, gathering place, and travelling route to the Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Assiniboine, Stoney, Métis that has been a traditional meeting grounds, gathering place, and travelling route to the Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Assiniboine, Stoney, Métis, Dene and Nakota Sioux. Over 47 different First Nations are represented across Alberta.

#### **Treaty 6 Acknowledgement Statement**

Welcome to Grande Yellowhead Public School Division, a welcoming place for peoples from around the world. We (i) wish to acknowledge with respect that the land on which we gather is Treaty 6 territory and is a traditional meeting ground, gathering place, travelling route and home for many Indigenous peoples.

#### Treaty 8 Acknowledgement Statement

Welcome to Grande Yellowhead Public School Division, a welcoming place for peoples from around the world. We (i) wish to acknowledge with respect that the land on which we gather is Treaty 8 territory and is a traditional meeting ground, gathering place, travelling route and home for many Indigenous peoples.

## Procedures

- 1. Division staff will acknowledge the Treaty territory with the acknowledgement statement at hosted public and/or community events and gatherings when held on treaty territory.
  - 1.1 Within the Division, Treaty 6 territory includes Evansburg, Wildwood, Niton Junction, Fulham, Edson and Hinton.
  - 1.2 Within the Division, Treaty 8 territory includes Grande Cache, Jasper National Park and the Municipality of Jasper.
- 2. Principals and school staff will acknowledge the Treaty territory with the acknowledgement statement at significant school and/or community special events, celebrations and gatherings when held on Treaty territory.
- 3. The acknowledgement needs to be made at any appropriate time during the Opening Remarks.

Reference: Section 63 Education Act

 Approved:
 March 21, 2018

 Amended:
 July 1, 2018; April 16, 2020