

Minutes of the Regular Board of Trustees **Organizational Meeting** of Grande Yellowhead Public School Division

Meeting Number 14

June 19, 2024 – 10:00 am Education Services Center, Edson, AB

https://www.youtube.com/@grandeyellowheadpublicscho2377

TRUSTEE ATTENDANCE:

M. Bobilek	Present
S. Caputo, Vice Chair	Present
F. Fowler	Present
D. Karpluk, Chair	Present
J. Mines	Present
Y. Oshanyk	Present
J. Pettitt	Present

ADMINISTRATION ATTENDANCE:

- Dr. Lewis, Superintendent
- J. Lin, Secretary-Treasurer
- B. Kudinga, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
- Dr. Harding, Assistant Superintendent Division Services and Supports
- C. Aschenmeier, Assistant Superintendent Division Services and Supports
- L. Lee, Director of Information Technology
- M. Auriat, Director of Human Resources
- N. Gilks, Director of Communications and Special Projects
- K. Brook, Senior Executive Assistant

According to Alberta Regulation 82/2019 — Education Act — Board Procedures Regulations, a notice of the Special Meeting was sent to the Trustees by email the week before the meeting.

CALL TO ORDER

Superintendent Lewis chaired the meeting for the election of the board chair and called the meeting to order at 1003 hours.

2024-069 Election of Board Chair

Superintendent Lewis called for nominations for the position of Board Chair. Trustee Oshanyk nominated Trustee Karpluk. Nomination accepted.

Superintendent Lewis called a second time for nominations for the position of Board Chair.

Superintendent Lewis called for a third time for nominations for the position of Board Chair. Hearing no further nominations, Superintendent Lewis called the question of all those in favour.





Trustee Karpluk was awarded the position of Board Chair.

Carried

Trustee Karpluk assumed the role of the chair.

2024-070 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Trustee Caputo moved that the Board approve the agenda.

Carried

Mandatory Disclosure of Interest

Electronic Forms for Mandatory Disclosure of Personal Interest were sent out, signed, and submitted by individual Board members to the Secretary-Treasurer.

2024-071 Election of Vice-Chair of the Board

Chair Karpluk called for nominations for the position of Vice Chair. Trustee Fowler nominated Trustee Caputo. Nomination accepted.

Chair Karpluk called a second time for nominations for Vice-Chair.

Chair Karpluk called a third time for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair. Hearing no further nominations, Chair Karpluk called the question of all those in favour.

Trustee Caputo was awarded the role of Vice-Chair.

Carried

ACTION ITEMS

2024-072 Approval of Committee Structure for the Board of 2024/25

Trustee Fowler moved that the Board of Trustees approve the Committee Structure and appointment of trustee representatives of the Board for the 2024/25 school year.

Carried

STANDING COMMITTEES

- 1. Committee of the Whole:
 - Chair: Trustee Fowler
 - Vice Chair: Trustee Bobilek
- 2. ATA Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Fowler (Chair) and Mines (Vice-Chair)
 - Alternate: Trustee Caputo
- 3. Audit Committee:
 - Members: all trustees
- 4. CUPE Negotiations:
 - Members: Trustees Caputo (Chair) and Pettitt (Vice-Chair)
 - Alternate: Trustee Mines

 \mathcal{DK}

JL

- 5. Division Bus Drivers' Negotiations:
 - Trustees Mines (Chair) and Bobilek (Vice-Chair)
 - Alternate: Trustee Pettitt
- 6. Grievance Committee (Association of School Bus Drivers):
 - Members: Trustees Fowler (Chair) and Oshanyk (Vice-Chair)
 - Alternate: Trustee Caputo
- 7. Policy Committee:
 - Members: Trustees Bobiek (Chair), Caputo (Vice-Chair), and Pettitt
 - Alternate: Trustee Mines
- 8. Recognition of Employees:
 - Members: Trustees Pettitt (Chair) and Mines (Vice-Chair)
 - Alternate: Trustee Bobilek
- 9. Board Planning Seminar
 - Members: Trustees Bobilek (Chair) and Mines (Vice-Chair)
 - Alternate: Trustee Pettitt

Ad Hoc Committees

1. Student Expulsion: Two trustees (local when available); Superintendent or designate.

External Committees

- 1. Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 2/3 Board Representative:
 - Representative: Trustee Karpluk
 - Alternate: Trustee Fowler
- Public School Boards Association of Alberta (PSBAA) Council Representative:
 - Representative: Trustee Fowler
 - Alternate: Trustee Bobilek
- 3. Rural Caucus of Alberta School Boards:
 - Representative: Trustee Caputo
 - Alternate: Trustee Pettitt

Closed Representation

1. Chamber of Commerce

Evansburg - Trustee Bobilek Edson - Trustees Fowler and Pettitt





Hinton - Trustees Caputo and Trustee Oshanyk Jasper - Trustee Karpluk Grande Cache - Trustee Delisle

2. **Interagency**: Trustee from individual community where applicable.

2024-073 Appointment of Signing Authorities

Trustee Mines moved that the Board of Trustees appoint the Board Chair, the Vice Chair, the Superintendent of Schools, or Secretary-Treasurer, as signing authority for all documents.

Carried

2024-074 Appointment of Signing Authorities: Cheques and Negotiable Instruments

Trustee Mines moved that the Board of Trustees appoint the Board Chair or the Vice-Chair together with the Superintendent of Schools or Secretary-Treasurer, as signing authority on all cheques and negotiable instruments.

Carried

2024-075 ADJOURNMENT

Trustee Caputo moved for adjournment at 1027 hours.

Carried

V	<i>P</i> 84	luk (Sep 23, 2024 1	
Λ	Dale Karp	luk (Sep 23, 2024 1	10:38 MDT)

Dale Karpluk Board Chair **X** Jun Lin

Jun Lin

Secretary-Treasurer